Saturday Morning Blogroll Goes Out to Eat

Studying for the bar exam fifteen years ago, I'd take long breaks on the couch. When I wasn't sleeping, I'd read and try to soothe the mental indigestion that came from stuffing myself with endless crimes and torts and estates and property and corporations. One of the things I read that extremely long summer was MFK Fisher. I roasted my first chicken because of Fisher. She also made me see that no matter how much I messed something up that day, I could always begin again the next day with another meal. And then there was this statement, which stunned me then and still moves me and is the thing that made me a convert to the art of eating:

“People ask me, ‘Why do you write about food, and eating and drinking? Why don’t you write about the struggle for power and security, about love, the way others do?’. . . The easiest answer is to say that, like most other humans, I am hungry. But there is more than that. It seems to me that our three basic needs for food and security and love, are so mixed and mingled and entwined that we cannot straightly think of one without the others. So it happens that when I write of hunger, I am really writing about love and the hunger for it. . . There is communion of more than our bodies when bread is broken and wine drunk.”

M.F.K. Fisher, from The Gastronomical Me

Fisher wasn't a snob. She liked to be surprised. She preferred passion and oddness to coolness and sophistication. The best blogs partake of these qualities. The ones I found on wordpress were right there waiting for me, under the tags "food" and "recipes":

Sourpatch. There is a lot to admire here — a fine conscience, wonderful writing, lovely food and pictures, and good sense. The poverty challenge is very interesting and something I'll return to. The recipes look good and there are some great looking links.

Cooking a Wolf. There’s only one page so far, but it’s so beautifully done that it’s worth checking in every once in a while for more. I sure hope there’s more! I want that meatball recipe, for one thing. And the template she uses has never seemed more appropriate to the subject than it does here.

NoShowerFamily. Why shouldn’t there be a blog written by two girls in Taiwan all about what they make and eat in their dorm rooms and around town? I'm fond of these girls — they've made a food blog like no other I've seen. And the no shower movement cracks me up.

4 thoughts on “Saturday Morning Blogroll Goes Out to Eat

  1. Hi Bloglily, thanks for the kind words. I see I’ve successfully hoodwinked the world into thinking I have good sense. Now if I could just start acting like it.

    Cheers, RS

  2. Here’s another link: [url=http://mylifeasareluctanthousewife.blogspot.com/2006/05/recipe-berry-smoothies.html]Berry Smoothies[/url]

    From My Life as a Reluctant Housewife.

Leave a Reply

