Jam Today

The jam is done. If you want to see how it all started, you can read about it here. This is how I finished it.

Sterilize the jars. That means: wash them in hot soapy water, fill them with hot water and put them in the microwave on high for ten minutes or in the oven at 250 for about half an hour. I use boiling water. You do not have to; boiling water can be scary. We don’t want you to be afraid.

Next, open the fridge and take out the jam you put in there a few days ago, the jam that’s been sitting in its sugar and lemon bath and becoming more and more delicious.

Put it in the lovely copper preserving kettle. While you’re at it, take the top of the two part canning lid (there’s a screw top and a flat sealing part), and put it in a sauce pan with water.

Turn the heat on. As soon as the water begins to boil in the saucepan where you’ve put the lids, turn it off. You don’t want to cook the lids, you want to keep them warm. When the jam begins to boil, turn it down to a simmer. Cook for about 15 minutes. Sometimes the jam is a bit runny. That’s okay. It firms up in the fridge. It is not meant, anyway, to be glutinous.

Can the stuff. That means, put it in the jars using a ladle (there is a special funnel you can get that helps this.) Leave about 1/4 inch of headroom. Wipe the top of the jar with a clean cloth. Screw on the two part lid that comes with all Kerr and Ball canning jars. (If you live in another country, this process will have to be as per the manufacturer’s instructions.) Turn the jars upside down.  Set a timer for five minutes.  And then turn the jars right side up.

You will notice that, somewhere between ten and thirty minutes later, the jars will make a most satisfying “pop.” If you’ve canned a lot of jars, there will be a lot of popping. This is the sound of the jar sealing. In our small house, when I make jam at night, I can hear the popping all the way up in my bed. I love it.

And that’s it. Except you need to try to keep the jam for the winter and not eat it right then & there, which is what we did with some of it last night. This picture doesn’t really do justice to the color which is a deep … raspberry. Here are some things you can do with jam:

  • spoon it over plain yogurt
  • spoon it over ice cream
  • eat it with a spoon
  • use it as a relish with meat
  • and, of course, put it on toast
7 thoughts on “Jam Today

  1. That’s as clear as one can hope for. I’ll keep the link for use in two years time, when we hopefully get our first crop of raspberries. Right now I could just about do with a jam sandwich, but being at work, I’ll just eat my apple and use my imagination.

  2. The jam looks SO beautiful. For a while I was experimenting with bread and butter pudding recipes (my husband adores it) using stale croissants which really do make a nice base, and brown sugar and raisins, and lots of different nuts. I reckon you could probably make an interestingly fruity pudding if you put jam on the bread and used toasted almonds or some such nut. I’ll have to give it a try.

  3. Pingback: BlogLily » Raspberry Jam

  4. You’ve inspired me with you’re easy-breezy industry. I begin step two tomorrow…I’m trying a triple berry combo of blueberries from Lake Chelan, raspberries from next door and a bit of blackberries from the Burke-Gilman Trail in Seattle. (I do miss North Berkley, though) This summer I’ve already done some amazing refrigerator pickles (thank you Duris Farm!) and my first batch of fresh tomato sauce! They ALL popped without reprocessing…yay! (BTW 40 lbs. of tomatoes doesn’t make many pints…) And by the way , when I went looking for that beautiful copper pot, you weren’t kidding when you said $49.00 was a steal! I’ll be on the look out at garage sales!

  5. Hi BL, Well I was in a hurry and didn’t finish reading before I started. I just read the first part of your reciepe printed it out and went to cooking. I just finished and sat down and started reading again. O.K. is this going to be alright not doing the two day thing?? I did the boil and slightly thicken thing. They are all canned and upside down for 5 min. right side up to cool and all tops popped. Will they thicken more as they sit or should I boil for the 15 min. to make them thicker????? First time with no pectin. Thanks Lori

  6. Hello Lori, I think you’ll be just fine. The two day thing is the product of my laziness, not a requirement. It’s good to know though, that if you put it in the fridge and leave it there for a bit, BAD THINGS WILL NOT HAPPEN. And the other thing that’s good to know is that slightly runny jam is not bad. It’s still very nice on top of toast, and in all other ways.

Leave a Reply

