Fourteen Things We Like About France and the French

Note to the Reader: Today’s guest bloggers are from the Bloglily Household. Since most of our household consists of children, you will not be wrong if you suspect this post was written by children. Indeed it was. Because it is Bastille Day, and two of the Bloglily boys attended French school for a long and memorable time, they honor today all they have learned to like and admire about France and the French.

I typed up pretty much what they told me, but had to cut them short on number 5 because they were starting to reenact some of the bloodier battles between France and England and things were getting out of hand. I also told them they could list food items if they had difficulty thinking of something to say, which they did at around eight and when they first got started.

 

Fourteen Things We Like About

France and the French

(fourteen because it is Bastille Day

Today, July Fourteenth)

1. Le Carambar. A candy that can be chocolaty, sour, fruity, caramely but always tasty.

2. Weird French food. Snails and things like that. We don’t like to eat snails. We like to say escargot because it sounds good.

3. Le Tour Eiffel. If you drop a penny off it and it hits someone it will kill them.

4. French swear words sound better than English swear words. They really SOUND like swear words.

5. Histoire. There were all kinds of awesome battles in France. Bloody stuff. When they chopped off Marie Antoinette’s head. The Hundred Years War was also awesome. Some of the losses of the French were sort of funny. In one of the battles, their horses turned around and got shot in the rear by English arrows. Another one was when their men were walking down a path, a narrow path, and all of a sudden the English came out of the bushes and started killing the French. The French had some of the worst times in wars, except for when the Russians quit World War I. Another interesting fact about the French is that they were in most of the important wars. They did pretty well in World War I. In World War II, they got whooped.

6. French people are strict, but that’s not awesome. They let their kids pretty much do anything, as long as they behave well. That’s awesome.

7. The French are really good at football. They got very far in the WorldCup. The Italians called Zidane a terrorist because they are jerks.

8. Nice is beautiful and the water is crystal clear so you can see right through it.

9. French cheese

10. Baguette

11. Wine

12. Fois gras (their dad chimed in here)

13. Fifth grade French teacher Philippe was very good about telling us history.

14. Fourth grade French teacher Francoase (editor’s note: she really spelled it like that; she liked phonetics) because she was very good about telling us history.

Happy Bastille Day From the Bloglily Household where France is held in high esteem for its food, good swear words and the many bloody battles it fought and, mostly, lost.

if you would like to chime in with other reasons to love France and the French, please… feel free.

10 thoughts on “Fourteen Things We Like About France and the French

  1. What an excellent post! I truly enjoyed reading your list. I agree with numbers 4, 5, 9, 10, and 11. I would like to add that I like the French because of Disneyland. It’s the only one in the world that I’ve been to where I didn’t have to wait in insanely long lines ;-).

  2. Colette, and Simone de Beauvoir, and Jean Paul Sartre, and Albert Camus, and Guy de Maupassant, and Eduard Manet, and Edgar Degas, and Eugene Atget, and the work of all of the writers and artists of other nationalities that was nurtured by literary life in Paris, and the Shakespeare & Company bookstore, and the salon (with a tip of the chapeau to litlove) and croissants, and tarte au citron, and steak au poivre avec pommes frites bistro style… If the customary thing is to stop once you start rolling out the food items, I guess I’ll stop there!

  3. I wouldn’t stop there — the madeleine, for one thing needs to be paid homage to. Also tea. I learned to drink black tea from an English friend. But it was a French friend who showed me how wonderful a tisane is and also introduced me to delicately flavored teas, not Snapple-like tea, but tea with a hint of apricot or lime. I also love the way ordinary people generally live in France — the way things are well used, and there isn’t as much consumption as in the United States. The list is a long one, but life well lived is at the top of mine. And, also, please do remember that you should not drop pennies (or euros) from the top of the Eiffel Tower, instead you should go up there and think about how many treasures lie before you.

  4. I’m with Kate in including a huge list of favourite French authors (although I won’t type them out here). Also, French patisserie, and that particularly intense hum of small winged insects on a hot summer’s day.

  5. I haven’t read much French literature — Madame Bovary, in fact, is the only thing I can dredge up. Kate and Litlove — if you have a moment, would you recommend a few things?

  6. Let’s see.. I spent three days in Paris in 1992. Searching my memory banks from that far back..

    Mass at Notre Dame. I went to London, Paris and Madrid with a tour group. We did have some time to ourselves, so we did things like sit in a cafe, walk around, visit the Louve and the Musee de Orsee (I know my spelling is probably off on the place names.) We also went by train to Madrid. We passed through Provance by train in an early summer evening. The light was fantastic. I did have some film left and was able to grab a few shots. (Before digital.) I resolved to go back *without* the tour group one day. 🙂

    No tea drinking while in Paris

  7. Re. 4: Weeeell… You should hear Dutch or Polish swear words, they don’t half roll off the tongue like a… a… well, quite a powerful swearword indeed!
    Re. 9 – 11: Indeed, and the combination is even better.

  8. I was in central France for work last September. I remember each meal was an experiance (first for the 20 minutes of me going through the phrase book to translate the menu) then the wonderful visceral meal made by people whose bottom line is the cuisine, not the money or turnover.

    In fact, I noticed most resturants in the city I was staying averaged 5-10 tables.

    One of my favourite things was in the morning at the hotel, for breakfast, the waiter would ask if I wanted something warm. “Oui, cafe avec crem, sil vous plait”. He would bring the best cup of coffee with heavy whipping-cream in a jug. (snort!) Yeah baby!

    Doug

  9. I am only beginning to read through your pre-my-blogging-period posts and this one caught my eye (for reasons I will let you guess).

    Number four reminds me of when we had a young Berkeley teenager (a friend of my cousin’s) staying with my family for summer vacation some seventeen years ago. He wanted to learn really vulgar swear words. And I readily taught him: sacrebleu, ventrebleu, saperlipopette, palsambleu, boudu, tudieu, sapristi. He was an eager pupil and it was all so funny when he’d use them believing they were really nasty words when they were in fact stemming right out of the seventeeth century.

    And I have to admit I have issues about number five, although I confess there were comic aspects sometimes in our troubled relationship with the English.

Leave a Reply

