What to read?

Say you’re going somewhere and need to bring paperbacks, leaving your nice editions of Suite Francaise, Digging to America and The Foreign Correspondent behind. What’s portable?

  • Barchester Towers. I’d like to know if it’s as good twenty years later as it was the summer I spent lying on the couch, studying for the bar exam, reading M.F.K. Fisher and Trollope.
  • To Kill a Mockingbird. I’ve never read this. But it begins with something from Charles Lamb, “Lawyers, I suppose, were children once.” I almost never read novels that go anywhere near the courts. (Although I re-read Great Expectations a few months ago and so enjoyed the portraits of lawyers.) The edition of To Kill a Mockingbird is wonderful to look at.

I used to bring so much more than this on trips.  Now, I like to travel light.  I’m not at the point, though, where I’m sawing the ends off toothbrushes to keep things from bulking up. Two novels, plus the one I’m writing, seems about right.

Au revoir, BL

5 thoughts on “What to read?

  1. You’re so practical. I always weigh myself down with a ton of books. Usually two or three times more than I can read in the given period of time. But I like to have options. And backups, in the even that I don’t like one or something.

  2. Sounds like you have a wonderful balance of fiction (which is as important as the right quantity!) Have a wonderful trip – I look forward to the traveller’s tales on your return!

  3. Traveling Mercies, Bloglily – I’ll miss your posts while you’re gone. I’m looking forward to hearing all about it upon your return, and I think you are an amazing mom for doing this same vacation year after year! Cheers,
    Courtney

  4. So far, I’ve just been reading Barchester Towers. It would be a shame if I don’t get to Mockingbird — but I’m supposed to be playing ping-pong and making a lanyard too, so we’ll see how the reading goes.

Leave a Reply

