Looking Out the Window

That’s what I’m doing today, as often as I can.

Yesterday afternoon, I sat in the shade at my son’s school, the sounds of soccer practice in the background, and read eight pages of The Three Musketeers, and a paragraph of the Book of Tea (BookMooched! and recommended a long time ago by Ms. Make Tea Not War). This is from the Three Musketeers (the new Richard Pevear translation):

…d’Artagnan turned out to be, morally as well as physically, an exact copy of Cervantes’s hero, to whom we so happily compared him when our duties as historian made it necessary for us to draw his portrait. Don Quixote took windmills for giants and sheep for armies; d’Artagnan took every smile for an insult and every glance for a provocation.

Wonderful, don’t you think? There are hundreds more pages, but I know I’m going to like this. (Underneath The Book of Tea? A Boden catalogue — the children’s clothes are nice, and this is the first time I’ve seen the adult line. I was struck by how much a catalogue is about selling you a way of life. And that Johnnie Boden sounds a lot like J. Peterman.  The catalogue text is very chatty.)

13 thoughts on “Looking Out the Window

  1. I love reading about other people’s relaxing moments. Let’s not call it sloth– sitting in the shade waiting for a loved one, reading a book (or three)– sounds like heaven.

  2. I actually like “sloth”, and not just to be contrary. I like it because it is a word that seems almost like it should be a dirty word, but hasn’t quite crossed the line over to the other side.

    But maybe that’s because I’ve always hated words that sound like euphemisims and “sloth” sounds…. so… much like what I am really doing if I laze around and do absolutely nothing constructive.

    Now that I’m all moved into my new home, I might have to explore that side of myself again…

    It was definitely the weather for it this last weekend, here in the upper Midwest. *sigh* autumn….

  3. This all sounds very idyllic, Bloglily! Beautiful orchids, lovely books and the new Boden catalogue – what could be nicer? Everyone should have an hour or so a day to spend in this manner!

  4. Hi Renee — Welcome! It was pretty heavenly; I didn’t expect to have that nice hour or so to read and not read.

    Mick — It’s a fine word. I’m all for putting words to new uses, spinning them around, celebrating what’s at their heart, or at least what’s at mine. I’d love to hear about the upper midwest in the fall. I’m betting it’s quite beautiful.

    Hi Litlove (Don’t tell Eoin about the conspiracy thing.) I agree. An hour a day is about the right amount of time.

    Hello Eoin, I am so enjoying The Three Musketeers, a book that was invented for those who want to laze around with their feet up. It’s not a tea book, though, more a dark beer. And cookies, there is always room for cookies.

    They are pretty aren’t they Dorothy?  I hadn’t noticed that.

  5. That quote takes me right back. I read the 3 Musketeers when I was about 16, and Dartagnan was so much more romantic than the guys I was meeting at high school dances.

  6. Me too, Ms. Make Tea. It’s a nice looking book and one I think would be great for Sunday morning lying in bed reading. Hi Carl — It is so nice to be outdoors, while you still can. Fall in northern California is usually hot and then, all of a sudden, the rain begins and it doesn’t really end for quite some time. Like February. Lucette and Danielle, I can’t tell you how much I’m enjoying the Three Musketeers. yesterday, waiting on dr’s appointments, I was completely unaware of how much time had gone by. That hasn’t happened for a really long time to me when reading. It’s a great story!

Leave a Reply

