Oh, Mr. Darcy (A Little Writing Interlude)

One of my boys is home sick today, something that slows down momentum like nothing else. He tries hard to leave me alone, but he’s seven, and he has a lot of things to talk about. So finally I rooted around in our pile of Netflix movies and put Pride and Prejudice (the one with Colin Firth) in the computer.

That did the trick. For some reason, when you’re seven, the question of how the Bennett girls are going to find husbands is fascinating. After asking whether there were any guns in the movie (only once, in the shooting scene), he settled in. He liked the parties, the soldiers, the nasty Miss Bingley. I think because he so often feels like the rudest one in our family, he was happy to see a movie in which so many adults are mean to each other. And because there is no kissing, and the search for love is expressed in words rather than scary outfits in which girls show their belly buttons, he was not scared away.

The funniest thing of all though is that when Mr. Darcy proposes to Elizabeth that first time, so rudely and with so much passion, I happened to be looking over his shoulder and then when Elizabeth turned him down, I began to weep. Poor thing, my son looked at me with some concern and said, Mom. This whole movie? It’s about marriage, isn’t it? As though nothing could be sad about marriage, for heaven’s sake. Now, if you fall off your bike, that’s another story entirely.

We’ve got the second part of this movie, the part where things turn out all right, coming in the mail. Neither of us can wait.

16 thoughts on “Oh, Mr. Darcy (A Little Writing Interlude)

  1. I don’t know him, obviously, but I can just imagine him sitting there watching Pride and Prejudice all intent! I like it when boys get interested in Jane Austen.

    I remember watching the Colin Firth Pride and Prejudice series when it was shown on TV in UK. I was living with my grandparents at that time. I have a crystal clear image of my Grandma sitting up in her chair and frowning at the TV screen. When Lydia and another sister were giggling on a swing, my Grandma burst out imperiously: “The foolish so-and-so’s!”

    It is such an odd memory. My Grandma died four years ago. She was an amazing person and she changed the course of my life by allowing me to live with her that time. Thank you for triggering that memory of her.

  2. This is a great version of Pride and Prejudice, I enjoy it every time I watch it. We exposed our daughter to this kind of stuff often when she was really young and she likes these type of films now, as a 14 year old, better than the teen dreck they put out on a regular basis. I don’t know if I could’ve handled just watching one disk and having to wait for the other though!

  3. What may be remembered later in life is the private time W got to spend with you. I remember staying home with mom and the odd feeling of being the only one there with her. It is a nice memory. Haven’t seen the movie–not my type I guess. Have enough experiences in my own life with marriage et al and fear that a movie will do little to improve the memory. W is a special kid and I am sure he, in an unexpected way, enjoyed the time alone with you.
    Count your blessings and know that you are loved,
    Tom

  4. If only the BBC version of Pride and Prejudice had been made a few years earlier…then I could’ve avoided watching the Price is Right and Card Sharks when I was sick!
    It’s funny that’s what you selected. I’m currently going through a “romance” phase, blatantly adding it in one area of life when it’s so conspicuously absent in another. D’Arcy and Elizabeth captivate me every time…makes me almost forget I’m lonely!

  5. I’ve got this film on DVD in German, for some reason. I must remember it when Lily falls ill and has to stay at home. It would be interesting to see how she responds. I’ll watch Colin Firth in anything, incidentally, even in German …

  6. I remember watching this in segments with my mom when it was first on A&E. I don’t know how we managed from one night to the next. I can’t imagine having to wait for the next half to come in the mail!

  7. Ha – if only my son would be prepared to watch Pride and Prejudice with me when ill!! But DVDs do get watched at that point, and I am extremely grateful to their power of distraction when he has toothache or a temperature. Generally we get out the James Bond at that point, as it never fails to take our minds off pain.

  8. Oh, a kid after my own heart! My 8 year old loves to watch it as well. The horses at the beginning had her hooked. I think it is the best literary adaptation I’ve ever seen.

    Hope he is feeling better — enjoy disc 2!

  9. Hello all, He’s a violent little person who hates to take baths, so I have no idea what he sees in Jane Austen, but maybe it’s because he’s under the impression it’s too old for him and he’s curious –always — about those sorts of things.

    I’m off to write!

    BL

  10. How ironic – I watched P&P this past weekend and just returned the discs to Netflix. Who knows – maybe the disc I watched is now on its way to you. This was the first time I’d seen it – I loved it! I have now ordered the 10th anniversary edition and should have it next week.

  11. I do so like Netflix — it’s easy to return the dvds, and fun to set up a queue. (I find I have never actually written that word and am not sure I’ve got it right. All those vowels.) The only trouble is that others would like to control the queue, and bump The Mary Tyler Moore show for the Simpsons, which is not necessarily a bad thing.

Leave a Reply

