Scenes From A Walk

It is difficult to remember sometimes how thoroughly children inhabit a world that is not our own. The other day, walking with my youngest son, this was more obvious to me than it usually is.

He brings a weapon on our walks, and clears the woods of nests of villains. The terrain is rugged, and there are a lot of places for the enemy to take refuge. You have to be alert for them at all times. They’re a tricky bunch, professional soldiers who want to take over the lovely land we’ve lived on for generations and generations.

Here, he’s looking down at the tower where his family stays, safe from their enemies. He’s from a long line of leaders, and he’s made his fortune inventing things “people can really use.”

At the top of the hill, he looks across the land and sees that his people are safe.

It is a good day when the land is at peace.

Have a wonderful Thanksgiving, if that is a holiday you’re celebrating tomorrow, and whether or not you are, at some point in the next few days, go out for a walk and try to remember how the world looked to you when you were seven, when anything was possible.

18 thoughts on “Scenes From A Walk

  1. Love it, love it, love it. It is a good day when the king has made safe his people. Around here, we have been having fairy houses, and some serious Harry Potter and Greek myth fantasies. I have to take a cue from your aplomb about the swinging stick. I get nervous my little Aragorn is going to slay my shins, or something. And, it hurts when he smites off the floaty purple heads of my sweetly nodding verbena stalks. But I have to remember it’s for the common good, and try not to intrude on his fantasy so much. BL, have a wonderful Thanksgiving! Put up some pictures! I’m still trying to figure out how to get the pictures from the camera into the computer, but I don’t see where to insert the film . . .I’ll figure it out one of these days.

  2. What a wonderful reality to be aware of and in awe of–the reality of childhood, years afterwards. Beautifully said and pictured.
    I like marymom’s view of it all, too.

  3. What a beautiful post, with lovely pictures! What is that stunning building? Chez BlogLily?

    I wish you and your family a wonderful Thanksgiving. It’s just a normal Thursday in Germany, but I’ll be giving thanks in my head for all the good things in my life.

  4. Interesting coincidence, I was talking about this with my beloved the other day, about how little most adults remember about being a child (which is not the same as simply remembering your childhood), and about how much child is left in her and me. A pleasantly large amount, we agreed.

    By the way, that white house is more than a little surreal! Ever tried to touch it? Or does your hand pass right through the walls?

  5. Such lovely photos. The white house reminds me a little of an elaborately iced gingerbread house — it has an otherworld, fairy-tale look to it.

    Have a wonderful Thanksgiving, BL and family.

  6. The Claremont really is a fantasy building, and is there anything more mystical than eucalyptus trees enshrouded in fog? Great pictures that make me just a little homesick for Berkeley.

  7. Hi Dorothy, Happy Thanksgiving! I’m glad to hear you’ll be taking one of those walks.

    Mary, That’s such a good description of the knight, trying to live a domestic life, while keeping up his knightly responsibilities. (And Happy T-Day to you too.)

    Thank you Mr. S — You have a good day also.

    Hello Charlotte — That building’s a big old hotel that dominates the view around here — I’ve always thought it looks a little like something you’d expect to see in Chitty Chitty Bang Bang. But it’s a very useful landmark, particularly on days when it’s foggy.

    Dear Edwin, I didn’t mention it, but my son actually BUILT it with his own hands, using some of his inventions (and a dash of imagination). It’s been in the family a long time and on foggy days you do indeed have to take care to touch just the parts that are real.

    Kerryn, You’re quite right about it being a fairy tale place. Before having children it was just the place with the nice spa, but now it’s taken on a larger dimension.

    Hi BikeProf — It’s been foggy a lot lately, but this morning it’s clear and warm and lovely. A good day for having turkey.

    That’s right Sue — that’s where we had the party for mom & dad’s fiftieth. I’m looking forward to our restaurant Thanksgiving, and having the dishes done by the magic restaurant elves. Hope you guys have a lovely day. xo, L

  8. What a lovely post, Bloglily, with beautiful photos. Thanks for the reminder of the magic of childhood. Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family.

  9. It’s probably indicative of my need for medication and therapy, but I never left those sorts of imaginings behind. To this day, I still “roleplay”–sometimes when taking a walk, I imagine I’m one of the Dashwood sisters, strolling through the hills of the English country side. Reading this entry about your son though made me realize there was a time when this behavior was considered completely normal by others; thank you. 🙂

  10. Actually, I’m a bit like Catherine! I was sitting in the optician this morning, waiting for my appointment, then realised I was pretending I was on a spaceship. Again. I’m glad to know other people do this.

    I loved this post. It brought a smile to my face and brought back lots of memories of being a child. I loved the image of your son clearing the woods of baddies. I bet you feel safe to have such a good bodyguard on your walks! I need him on my walks round the park.

  11. I so wish I could recapture that 7-year-old perspective. I don’t know for sure that there is a better one. Life is so magical and so full of promise and just lots of fun at that age. Obviously hanging out with a 7 year old is a very good approximation of the state, but I think I’m going to allow myself a little more fantasy role play in future – why shouldn’t adults have a bit of fun too?

  12. Hey Sis,
    Nice pics–hope you had a great turkey day! I have fond memories of times spent at that age. Haven’t lost much of it–spend a lot of time on a golf course and hate to admit that some of that time is spent in the woods (looking for lost balls–a stick as a sword has many uses. Oddly enough, I live is a desert and the only real trees are on the course–go figure). At any rate, I enjoyed the pics and have good memories of that particular walk as I have made it with the boys in the past. Hope all is well.

  13. BL,

    Great post, great pictures and lovely sentiment!
    Most of the time I feel like that 7 year old! Everything is possible!
    Sometimes though I do wonder if everything is possible for me?

    Eoin

  14. Eoin, I know. But you just have to behave as though it is. What do you have to lose?
    Hello dear Tom, All is well. One of the reasons your nephews love to visit you is because you are still seven at heart.
    Genie, It’s a little bit of that turkey hangover and a little bit of the wishing you still had some of those good childhood things in your days still. And you do, of course! That’s why you’re busy planting and harvesting.
    Helen, I like thinking of you in your spaceship. I imagine Kiko was helping with the sound effects!
    My dear Ms. Litlove, That fantasy role play thing? That’s what happens sometimes in a really, really good book.
    Oh Cat, That made me laugh!
    Hello SS — I’m so glad to see you over here. And I hope your T-Day was lovely too and that you’re headed into the rest of the holidays with a light heart and a good load o’books!
    xo, BL

Leave a Reply

